Weibel Weine - capisci - Header

Sulphites in wine

 

Sulphur is the stuff of the devil - at least that is what the Bible says. But does that also apply to us wine connoisseurs? After all, the ancient Greeks used sulphites to preserve food, so what harm can it do? The discussion about «vin naturel» - or natural wine - has reignited the debates about sulphur in wine.

 

Just to clear up a preconception: If the note on the label reads «contains sulphites», this is not a health warning! Instead, this information serves to indicate the presence of a substance that may trigger allergic reactions. The Food Labelling Directive has required that such ingredients be listed separately on the label since 2005.

Sulphur is not harmful to health and it does not induce headaches or migraines. Only 10 per cent of asthma sufferers experience any effects on their health. A genuine sulphur allergy is very rare.

 

Wine without sulphite:

The production of sulphur occurs naturally during the fermentation of wine, meaning that no wines are completely sulphur-free. Things are slightly different with added sulphur, which brings with it benefits including a longer storage life, for example. As such, a subtle difference exists: No wine is actually sulphur-free, but wines with no added sulphite do exist. The upshot of this is that even wines with no added sulphite (including many organic and biodynamic wines) exceed the limit of 30 mg/l and are consequently required to display «contains sulphites» on the label.

What purpose does sulphite serve in wine?
Sulphur has an antimicrobial and antioxidant effect. This means that sulphite prevents the wine from further fermentation, whilst also protecting it from oxidising too quickly - therefore increasing its storage life. As such, sulphur also preserves the taste of the wine and its sensory properties.

As a general rule, more sulphites may be added to white wines than to red wines. This is simply because red wines naturally contain more sulphites, which protect against oxidation. Likewise, it can also be generally said that wines with more residual sweetness are likely to have a higher sulphite content. Once again, this is because the sugar they contain brings with it a risk of secondary fermentation. Even the legal requirements take this into account.


Back to overview

Weibel Weine AG

Moosweg 40, Postfach

3604 Thun-Gwatt

T: 033 334 55 55

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Opening hours
Monday to Friday 7.30 am - 6.30 pm
Saturday 10.00 am - 4.00 pm

Weibel Weinhandel AG

Früebergstrasse 41

6340 Baar

T: 041 760 67 01

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Opening hours

Monday closed
Tuesday to Friday
9.00 am - 12.30 pm | 1.30 pm - 6.30 pm
Saturday
9.00 am - 4.00 pm

Weibel Weine - capisci - Header

Sulfite im Wein

 

Schwefel ist Teufelszeug, vermittelt uns zumindest die Bibel. Gilt das auch für uns Weingeniesser? Immerhin nutzten schon die alten Griechen Sulfite zum Haltbarmachen von Lebensmitteln, also was kann daran schädlich sein? Insbesondere die Diskussion um den naturbelassenen «vin naturel», hat die Debatten um den Schwefel im Wein erneut entfacht.

Um ein Vorurteil zu klären: Bei der Anmerkung auf dem Etikett, «enthält Sulfite» handelt es sich nicht um einen Warnhinweis in Sachen Gesundheit! Die Information dient vielmehr dem Hinzeigen auf einen Stoff, der allergische Reaktionen auslösen kann. Das Benennen von solchen Inhaltsstoffen wird durch die Richtlinie zur Lebensmittelkennzeichnung seit 2005 vorgeschrieben.

Schwefel ist nicht gesundheitsschädigend und führt nicht zu Kopfschmerzen oder Migräne. Gesundheitliche Auswirkungen zeigen sich nur bei 10 Prozent der als Asthmatiker eingestuften Menschen. Eine reine Schwefel-Allergie ist sehr selten. 

Wein ohne Sulfit: 
Schwefel entsteht auf ganz natürliche Weise beim Fermentieren des Weins, so dass es keinen Wein gibt, der komplett schwefelfrei ist. Etwas anders ist es mit dem hinzugefügten Schwefel, der also zusätzlich beigegeben wird, um den Wein unter anderem langlebiger zu machen. Dies führt zu der Spitzfindigkeit, dass es zwar nicht geschwefelten Wein gibt, aber eben keinen schwefelfreien Wein. So kommt es vor, dass selbst Weine, denen kein Sulfit beigefügt wurde (viele Bio- und Biodynamische Weine), den Grenzwert von 30 mg/l überschreiten und folgerichtig das «enthält Sulfite» auf dem Etikett führen müssen. 

Wofür braucht der Wein Sulfit? 
Schwefel wirkt antimikrobiell und antioxidativ. Das Sulfit verhindert also, dass der Wein weiter gärt, es schützt ihn vor zu schneller Oxidation und erhöht damit seine Lagerfähigkeit. Schwefel bewahrt somit auch den Geschmack des Weines und seine sensorischen Eigenschaften.

Generell gilt, dass man Weissweinen mehr Sulfite zufügen darf als Rotweinen. Schlichtweg, da Rotweine von Natur aus mehr Sulfite enthalten, die vor einer Oxidation schützen. Ebenso pauschal lässt sich sagen, dass Weine mit mehr Restsüsse auch einen höheren Sulfit-Anteil haben dürfen. Hier wiederum aus dem Grund, dass der enthaltene Zucker das Risiko einer Nachgärung birgt. Dies berücksichtigen selbst die gesetzlichen Vorgaben.

 


Zurück zur Übersicht

Weibel Weine AG

Moosweg 40, Postfach

3604 Thun-Gwatt

T: 033 334 55 55

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Freitag 07.30 - 18.30 Uhr

Samstag 10.00 - 16.00 Uhr

Weibel Weinhandel AG

Früebergstrasse 41

6340 Baar

T: 041 760 67 01

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Öffnungszeiten

Montag: geschlossen
Dienstag bis Freitag
09.00 - 12.30 Uhr | 13.30 - 18.30 Uhr
Samstag
09.00 - 16.00 Uhr