Weibel Weine - capisci - Header

What is organic wine?

The three types in viticulture: conventional, organic and biodynamic. Here the boundaries are often fluid. Even conventionally working winemakers try to get by with as few protective agents as possible, as it saves money and makes the work in the field healthier. Whereas conventionally working winegrowers can use the whole spectrum of artificially produced means in the vineyard as well as in the cellar. They can fertilize the soil to their heart's content, spray fungicides against fungal infestations and herbicides against weeds. Man-made agents can penetrate the plant. Critics say this can leave residues in the wine. Conventional winemakers say fiddle-dee-dee, with modern agents this no longer happens.

 

The situation is different in biodynamic viticulture. It is a common misconception that organic winemakers do not spray at all. But these winemakers use only naturally occurring substances. The two most important preparations are horn manure and horn silica. Only a few grams of both are needed per m2. The horn silica serves as a regulator for the metabolism of the vine.

 

The biggest difference to the conventional winegrower is that the organic winegrower works preventively. For example, intensive foliage care is important to keep the canopy of the vines airy. This makes it less likely that plants and grapes will be attacked by diseases.

 

The most important thing in an organic vineyard is a healthy soil, because only here grow vigorous plants that can defend themselves.

 

Organic viticulture is much more labor-intensive and risky, because entire vintages can be lost to the vagaries of nature when moisture develops in the fall and favors infestation with fungal spores that eat through the skins of the grapes and destroy the crop. In such cases, the winemaker has the choice of exceptionally resorting to outlawed sprays and thus losing organic certification.

 

In our assortment you will find various certified organic wines. However, certification is also a financial obstacle especially for small wineries. Take for example the winery El Citera from Peschiera del Garda (Veneto). The winemaker Ambra Zanetti attaches great importance to organic viticulture, the care of the vines and the soil. However, her wines do not carry the organic seal of approval.


Back to overview

Weibel Weine AG

Moosweg 40, Postfach

3604 Thun-Gwatt

T: 033 334 55 55

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Opening hours
Monday to Friday 7.30 am - 6.30 pm
Saturday 10.00 am - 4.00 pm

Weibel Weinhandel AG

Früebergstrasse 41

6340 Baar

T: 041 760 67 01

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Opening hours

Monday closed
Tuesday to Friday
9.00 am - 12.30 pm | 1.30 pm - 6.30 pm
Saturday
9.00 am - 4.00 pm

Weibel Weine capisci

Qu’est-ce-qu'un vin bio?

 

Il existe trois types de viticulture: conventionnelle, biologique et bio-dynamique. Les limites entre ces cultures sont souvent floues. Même les viticulteurs travaillant de manière conventionnelle essaient d'utiliser le moins possible de produits de protection, car cela permet d’économiser de l’argent et cela rend plus sain le travail au champ. Alors que les viticulteurs travaillant de manière conventionnelle dans un vignoble et une cave, peuvent utiliser l’ensemble des produits de synthèse. Ils peuvent fertiliser le sol à leur guise, pulvériser des fongicides contre les champignons et des herbicides contre les mauvaises herbes. Les produits de synthèse peuvent pénétrer dans la plante. Les opposants pensent qu’il peut ainsi rester des résidus dans le vin. Les viticulteurs traditionnels disent que c’est du blabla, que cela n’est pas possible avec les produits modernes.

 

La situation dans un vignoble bio-dynamique est différente. Il existe un malentendu très répandu selon lequel les viticulteurs bio ne pulvérisent rien. En revanche, ces viticulteurs utilisent uniquement des substances d'origine naturelle. Les deux principales préparations sont la bouse de corne et le silice de corne. Il faut seulement quelques grammes des deux par m2. Le silice de corne sert de régulateur pour le métabolisme de la vigne.

 

La plus grande différence avec un viticulteur conventionnel est que le viticulteur bio travaille de manière préventive. Un soin intensif des feuilles est important par exemple pour que le feuillage de la vigne reste aéré. Il est ainsi moins probable que les plantes et raisins soient exposés à des maladies.

 

Le point le plus important dans un vignoble bio est un sol sain, car c’est seulement ainsi que peuvent pousser des plantes solides qui peuvent se défendre elles-mêmes.

 

La viticulture écologique nécessite beaucoup de travail et est plus risquée car des millésimes entiers dépendent des aléas de la nature, lorsque l'humidité apparaît au printemps et favorise les attaques fongiques, qui se nourrissent dans les peaux des raisins et détruisent la récolte. Dans ces cas, le viticulteur a le choix d'utiliser exceptionnellement des produits de pulvérisation proscrits et perdre ainsi la certification bio.

 

Dans notre gamme, vous trouverez divers vins bio certifiés officiellement. Mais la certification est également un obstacle financier, notamment pour les petits viticulteurs. Prenons l’exemple du vignoble El Citera de Peschiera del Garda (Vénétie). La viticultrice Ambra Zanetti accorde une grande valeur à la viticulture biologique, aux soins de la vigne et du sol. Mais ses vins ne portent pas le label bio.

Weibel Weine AG

Moosweg 40, Postfach

3604 Thun-Gwatt

T: 033 334 55 55 | F: 033 334 55 56

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Horaires d’ouverture
Lundi au vendredi 07:30h - 18:30h
Samedi 10:00h - 16:00h

Weibel Weinhandel AG

Früebergstrasse 41

6340 Baar

T: 041 760 67 01| F: 041 760 67 02

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Horaires d’ouverture

Lundi fermé
Mardi au vendredi
09:00h - 12:30h | 13:30h - 18:30h
Samedi
09:00h - 16:00h