We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on this website. by continuing to use our website without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies. you can get more information about the use of cookies here.

Weibel Weine - capisci - Header

The art of the cuvée - The best combined from different grape varieties

The French term "cuvée" or "assemblage" is often used in German-speaking countries for sophisticated blends, especially of different grape varieties. The best-known cuvées come from the French wine region of Bordeaux.

 

But the term cuvée is also frequently used in sparkling wine production, such as in the Champagne or  Franciacorta-regions. Here, however, the term stands for the mixture of base wines, often from different vintages.

 

The goal of an assemblage is that the blended wine tastes better than each lot on its own. One wants to achieve a harmony of alcohol, aromas, acidity, tannins and color through different grape varieties. The weaknesses of a wine are not concealed, but the strengths are combined. If different grape varieties are blended, one variety usually carries the main part to define the character of the wine. Thus, a tannic and expressive Nebbiolo in combination with Barbera and Merlot creates an extremely harmonious cuvée with more smoothness and fullness.

 

In order for a cuvée to present itself harmoniously, characteristics such as fruitiness, acidity, tannin content, alcohol content and residual sweetness must be assessed very precisely during preliminary tastings. It is an art that requires a great deal of expertise, skill, sensitivity and experience to match complementary varieties to create a particularly round and harmonious wine.

 

But there are also practical reasons for blending. Since not all grape varieties sprout, blossom and ripen at the same time, weather influences can be corrected in this way. If a grape variety does not reach optimum ripeness or if the yield is low, the winemaker can compensate with other grape varieties. In this way, he can guarantee the consistent quality of his wines within a certain framework.

 

Assemblage is made either before pressing or with finished wines.

 

But what is the difference between blending, assemblage, cuvée, blend, mariage, meritage and coupage?

Basically, the terms mean all the same, but come from different regions of the world.


Back to overview

Weibel Weine AG

Moosweg 40, Postfach

3604 Thun-Gwatt

T: 033 334 55 55

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Opening hours
Monday to Friday 7.30 am - 6.30 pm
Saturday 10.00 am - 4.00 pm

Weibel Weinhandel AG

Früebergstrasse 41

6340 Baar

T: 041 760 67 01

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Opening hours

Monday closed
Tuesday to Friday
9.00 am - 12.30 pm | 1.30 pm - 6.30 pm
Saturday
9.00 am - 4.00 pm


Company vacations
15 - July 29 2024

Weibel Weine capisci

Die Kunst der Cuvée - Das Beste vereint aus verschiedenen Rebsorten

Der französische Ausdruck «Cuvée» oder «Assemblage» wird im deutschsprachigen Raum gern für anspruchsvolle Verschnitte, insbesondere verschiedener Traubensorten, verwendet. Die wohl bekanntesten Cuvées stammen aus dem französischen Weingebiet «Bordeaux».

 

Aber auch bei der Schaumweinherstellung wie beispielsweise in der Champagne oder im Franciacorta-Gebiet wird der Begriff Cuvée häufig verwendet. Hierbei steht der Begriff jedoch für die Mischung von Grundweinen, oftmals aus verschiedenen Jahrgängen.

 

Ziel einer Assemblage ist es, dass der verschnittene Wein besser schmeckt als jede Partie für sich. Man möchte durch verschiedene Rebsorten eine Harmonie von Alkohol, Aromen, Säure, Tanninen und Farbe erreichen. Die Schwächen eines Weines werden nicht kaschiert, sondern die Stärken werden kombiniert. Verschneidet man verschiedene Rebsorten, trägt meistens eine Sorte den Hauptanteil, um den Charakter des Weines zu definieren. So entsteht aus einem tanninreichen und ausdrucksstarken Nebbiolo in Kombination mit Barbera und Merlot eine überaus harmonische Cuvée mit mehr Geschmeidigkeit und Fülle.

 

Damit eine Cuvée sich harmonisch präsentiert, müssen Eigenschaften wie Fruchtigkeit, Säure, Tanningehalt, Alkoholgehalt und Restsüsse bei Vorverkostungen sehr genau beurteilt werden. Es ist eine Kunst, die viel Fachwissen, Können, Feingefühl und Erfahrung erfordert, ergänzende Sorten aufeinander abzustimmen, um einen besonders runden und harmonischen Wein zu kreieren.

 

Es gibt aber auch praktische Gründe für das Assemblieren. Da nicht alle Rebsorten zum gleichen Zeitpunkt austreiben, blühen und reifen, kann man so Witterungseinflüsse korrigieren. Kommt eine Rebsorte nicht zur optimalen Reife oder ist der Ertrag gering, kann der Winzer mit anderen Rebsorten ausgleichen. So kann er in einem bestimmten Rahmen die gleichbleibende Qualität seiner Weine garantieren.

 

Assembliert wird entweder vor der Pressung oder mit fertigen Weinen.

 

Aber was ist nun der Unterschied zwischen Verschnitt, Assemblage, Cuvée, Blend, Mariage, Meritage und Coupage?

Grundsätzlich bedeuten die Begriffe alles dasselbe stammen jedoch aus unterschiedlichen Regionen der Welt.


Zurück zur Übersicht

Weibel Weine AG

Moosweg 40, Postfach

3604 Thun-Gwatt

T: 033 334 55 55 | F: 033 334 55 56

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Freitag 07.30 - 18.30 Uhr

Samstag 10.00 - 16.00 Uhr

Weibel Weinhandel AG

Früebergstrasse 41

6340 Baar

T: 041 760 67 01| F: 041 760 67 02

weibel@weibelweine.ch

Öffnungszeiten

Montag: geschlossen
Dienstag - Freitag
09.00 - 12.30 Uhr | 13.30 - 18.30 Uhr
Samstag
09.00 - 16.00 Uhr