Az. Agricola Fornacina

,

Montalcino (Tuscany)

Brunello di Montalcino Riserva DOCG

Vintage 2012
WinemakerAz. Agricola Fornacina
Alcohol14.5% vol.
Grapes 100% Sangiovese
75 cl CHF 59.00

Winemaking

The grapes are harvested by hand in mid-October. Following vinification in stainless steel tanks for a period of 30 days and malolactic fermentation, the wine is aged for 48 months in traditional, large wooden barrels made of Slovenian oak. The wine is then further matured in bottles for 12 months before making its way onto the market.

Our tasting note

Deep ruby red with garnet reflections. The wine is opulent on the nose and fully ripe with notes of stewed and dried fruits with hints of vanilla and liquorice. Enormously rich on the palate with supple fullness and soft, elegant tannins. Lively and clear with a long finish.

Az. Agricola Fornacina

Viticulture has been a tradition of the Biliorsi family for almost a century. After producing simple table wines in the small Fornacina winery outside Montalcino, Ruggero Biliorsi began to professionalise production in the early 1980s and pressed wines of a high quality from then on. The first few hundred bottles of Brunello date back to the year 1981. Six years later, Ruggero's sons Simon and Mauro took over the business as equal partners. The two winemakers are supported in their craft by oenologist Attilio Pagli and agronomist Folco Giovanni Bencini. The vineyard of Azienda Agricola Fornacina covers an area of just five hectares. Three hectares lie at an altitude of roughly 400 metres facing south and south-east and are situated directly by the estate, while the remaining plots are located on the south side in Castelnuovo dell'Abate. The planting density is usually 4`500 vines per hectare and the grapes have been grown organically since 2004.

Suitable with
Barbecue
Beef
Lamb

Az. Agricola Fornacina

,

Montalcino (Toscane)

Brunello di Montalcino Riserva DOCG

Millésime 2012
ViticulteurAz. Agricola Fornacina
Degré14.5% vol.
Cépages 100% Sangiovese
75 cl CHF 59.00

Vinification

Les vendanges s'effectuent à la main à la mi-octobre. Après une vinification de 30 jours en cuve inox et une fermentation malolactique, le vin vieillit pendant 48 mois dans de grands fûts traditionnels en bois de chêne slovène. Vient ensuite l'étape du vieillissement en bouteille de 12 mois avant commercialisation du vin.

Notre note de dégustation

Robe de couleur rubis profonde avec des reflets grenats. Au nez, arôme opulent arrivé à maturité avec des notes de fruits compotés et de fruits secs et des accents de vanille et de réglisse. En bouche, un vin riche à l'ampleur délicate et aux tanins souples et élégants. Vin vif et clair, doté d'une longue fin de bouche.

Az. Agricola Fornacina

Ce vignoble appartient à la famille Biliorsi depuis presque un siècle. Après avoir produit de simples vins de table dans la petite exploitation viticole de Fornacina, à la périphérie de Montalcino, Ruggero Biliorsi s'est lancé dans une démarche de professionnalisation de sa production au début des années 80 et de vinification de vins de qualité. Les premières centaines de bouteilles de Brunello datent précisément de 1981. Six ans plus tard, les fils de Ruggero, Simon et Mauro, ont repris les affaires à parts égales. Les deux viticulteurs sont assistés dans leur travail par l'œnologue Attilio Pagli et l'agronome Folco Giovanni Bencini. L'Azienda Agrico la Fornacina dispose d'un vignoble d'à peine cinq hectares. Trois hectares se situent à quelque 400 mètres d'altitude. Orientés sud/sud-est, ils se trouvent à proximité directe du domaine, tandis que les autres parcelles sont situées côté sud à Castelnuovo dell'Abate. La densité de plantation s'élève généralement à 4`500 pieds de vigne par hectare. Depuis 2004, les raisins bénéficient d'une culture biologique.

Convient avec
Grillade
Boeuf
Agneau