Az. Agricola Fornacina

,

Montalcino (Tuscany)

Brunello di Montalcino Riserva DOCG

Vintage 2012
WinemakerAz. Agricola Fornacina
Alcohol14.5% vol.
Grapes 100% Sangiovese
75 cl CHF 59.00

Winemaking

The grapes are harvested by hand in mid-October. Following vinification in stainless steel tanks for a period of 30 days and malolactic fermentation, the wine is aged for 48 months in traditional, large wooden barrels made of Slovenian oak. The wine is then further matured in bottles for 12 months before making its way onto the market.

Our tasting note

Deep ruby red with garnet reflections. The wine is opulent on the nose and fully ripe with notes of stewed and dried fruits with hints of vanilla and liquorice. Enormously rich on the palate with supple fullness and soft, elegant tannins. Lively and clear with a long finish.

Az. Agricola Fornacina

Viticulture has been a tradition of the Biliorsi family for almost a century. After producing simple table wines in the small Fornacina winery outside Montalcino, Ruggero Biliorsi began to professionalise production in the early 1980s and pressed wines of a high quality from then on. The first few hundred bottles of Brunello date back to the year 1981. Six years later, Ruggero's sons Simon and Mauro took over the business as equal partners. The two winemakers are supported in their craft by oenologist Attilio Pagli and agronomist Folco Giovanni Bencini. The vineyard of Azienda Agricola Fornacina covers an area of just five hectares. Three hectares lie at an altitude of roughly 400 metres facing south and south-east and are situated directly by the estate, while the remaining plots are located on the south side in Castelnuovo dell'Abate. The planting density is usually 4`500 vines per hectare and the grapes have been grown organically since 2004.

Suitable with
Barbecue
Beef
Lamb

Brunello di Montalcino Riserva DOCG - Az. Agr. Fornacina

Az. Agricola Fornacina

,

Montalcino (Toskana)

Brunello di Montalcino Riserva DOCG

Jahrgang 2012
ProduzentAz. Agricola Fornacina
Alkoholgehalt14.5% vol.
Traubensorten 100% Sangiovese
75 cl CHF 59.00

Vinifikation

Die Ernte erfolgt Mitte Oktober von Hand. Nach der Vinifikation im Edelstahltank für 30 Tage und der malolaktischen Gärung reift der Wein für 48 Monate in traditionellen, grossen Holzfässern aus slowenischer Eiche. Anschliessende Flaschenreife von 12 Monaten bevor der Wein auf den Markt kommt.

Unsere Degustationsnotiz

Tiefes Rubinrot mit granatroten Reflexen. In der Nase opulente und vollreife Aromatik mit Noten von Früchtekompott und Dörrobst und mit Anklängen von Vanille und Lakritze. Am Gaumen enorm reichhaltig mit geschmeidiger Fülle und weichem, elegantem Tannin. Lebendig und klar mit langem Abgang.

Az. Agricola Fornacina

Der Weinbau geniesst bei der Familie Biliorsi eine fast hundertjährige Tradition. Nachdem im kleinen Winzerbetrieb Fornacina, ausserhalb von Montalcino, zunächst einfache Tafelweine produziert worden waren, begann Ruggero Biliorsi anfang der 1980er Jahre damit, die Herstellung zu professionalisieren und fortan Qualitätsweine zu keltern. Die ersten paar hundert Flaschen Brunello gehen exakt auf das Jahr 1981 zurück. Sechs Jahre später übernahmen Ruggeros Söhne Simon und Mauro gleichberechtigt die Geschäfte. Bei ihrer Arbeit werden die beiden Winzer von dem Önologen Attilio Pagli und vom Agronomen Folco Giovanni Bencini unterstützt. Die Azienda Agricola Fornacina verfügt über eine Rebfläche von nur fünf Hektar. Drei Hektar erstrecken sich in etwa 400 Meter Höhe süd- und südöstlich ausgerichtet in direkter Gutsnähe. Die restlichen Parzellen befinden sich auf der Südseite in Castelnuovo dell'Abate. Die Pflanzdichte beträgt in der Regel 4`500 Rebstöcke pro Hektar. Seit 2004 werden die Trauben biologisch angebaut.

Passend zu
Grilladen
Rindfleisch
Lammfleisch